Personal tools
Home Events Founders Lectures

Founders Lectures

About the Founders

The Founders Lectures in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering are made possible by the Founders Lectureship Fund, established at UCLA by families, friends, and former students of Dr. Ken Nobe and Dr. Sheldon Friedlander. The objective of this lectureship is to bring to the campus world-renowned researchers in Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering or related disciplines. The lectures alternate yearly between the two series, named in honor of Dr. Nobe and Dr. Friedlander. 2008 marked the inauguration year of the Nobe lecture series. 2009 marked the inauguration year of the Friedlander lecture series.


Professor Ken Nobe


Dr. Nobe is a native of Berkeley, California and received his BS degree from Berkeley. He earned his PhD degree from UCLA where he was appointed assistant professor in the school of engineering. He advanced through the academic ranks to Professor in 1968, served as Chair of the Chemical, Nuclear and Thermal Engineering Department from 1978 to 1983, and was the founding Chair of the Chemical Engineering Department from 1983 to 1984. He is a world-renowned scientist recognized especially for his pioneering research on catalytic air pollution control of exhaust emissions from automotive and stationary sources, as well as his studies of electrochemical processes including kinetics and mechanisms of electrodissolution and electrodeposition, corrosion, electrochemical energy systems, and electrodeposited nano-sized high performance soft and hard magnetics. During his distinguished career, he has been honored with the 1962 UCLA Distinguished Teacher Award and the 1992 Linford Award from the Electrochemcial Society. As an example of his numerous contributions to the department, Dr. Nobe along with his wife Mary endowed the William F. Seyer Chair in Materials Electrochemistry at UCLA in 2000 in honor of his graduate research advisor, Dr. William Seyer.


Professor Sheldon Friedlander


Sheldon ("Shel") K. Friedlander was UCLA Parsons Professor of Chemical Engineering and Director of the Air Quality/Aerosol Technology Laboratory. He joined UCLA in 1978 and was a founding member and Chair (1984-1988) of the Department. In 1982, he helped found the American Association for Aerosol Research (AAAR); and in 1997, AAAR established the Friedlander Award, recognizing an outstanding dissertation by a doctoral student in the field of aerosol science and technology. Shel's first professorial appointment was with Columbia University in 1954, followed by a position at Johns Hopkins University. In 1964, Shel moved to Caltech where he expanded his research on atmospheric pollution and devised a way to analyze the chemical makeup of smog particles. By doing so, he was able to unravel who or what (including power plants, automobiles and oil refineries) was contributing to air pollution at any given time. His enthusiasm for research carried over naturally to the classroom, and he created new courses in mass transfer, air pollution, nanoparticles, and aerosol technology. He also authored the classic text, Smoke, Dust and Haze: Fundamentals of Aerosol Dynamics, now in its second edition. Throughout his career, he received numerous distinctions for his seminal contributions and pioneering work in the field of aerosol science and technology, including a Fulbright Scholarship (1960), a Guggenheim Fellowship (1969), the Colburn Award (1959), the Alpha Chi Sigma Award (1974), the Walker Award (1979), the Fuchs Memorial Award (1990), the Lawrence K. Cecil Award (1995), the Christian Junge Award (2000), the Lifetime Achievement Award of the AIChE Particle Technology Forum (2001), and the Aurel Stodola Medal (ETH Zurich, 2004), as well as many honorary lectureships. He was elected to the National Academy of Engineering in 1975 in recognition of his work on the origins and control of particulate pollution.


Past Nobe Lectures


Past Friedlander Lectures

« June 2015 »